ANI210 Week 1: Introduction

After going through trials of studies and assignments, I was finally able to pass and continue in a whole new trimester. I am now attending a special three-day class called Studio (ANI210). 

Back to class for animation, my objective and assignment for this trimester is to make a game. My classmates and I are assembled randomly into different groups. My group is consisted of six animators, including myself, and two game programmers. I did not care who I was working with because I believe that if the group works together as a team and always help each other out, the project and the workflow would go smoothly. That way we can understand each other and see what we are capable of. As the article about the importance of teamwork said, “A team that works well together understands the strengths and weaknesses of each team member” (Root, n.d.).

All the group members voted me as their leader; in fact, my lecturer even chose me without giving a second thought. Having been chosen as the group’s leader, I am determined to make sure that the project would become a huge success, and I believe that this would be a great opportunity to develop myself. As Ashley Fern said in her blog and article, “To be successful, you need to have a deep understanding of what holds value to you” (Fern, 2013). Knowing what my goal is, I start developing my belief for the project and find ways to work on it effectively.

After brainstorming ideas for our game, my group and I decided to make a Japanese themed horror game. We pitched the idea to our lecturers and received feedback that our pitch is good. They also told us that we just need to know how the monsters will act or respond during the game. After receiving feedback, we were given an assignment to make a presentation according to our pitch next week. We needed to include details for the game such as the background story, concepts, and how the A.I. will be programmed. I gave each member of my team a task on what to work on, and I made sure to check on my team members and help them in any way possible. As a team leader, it is my job to help my team and help them work efficiently.

As for now, I hope to make the game fun with the help of my team.

References:

Fern, Ashley. What It Takes To Be A Leader. 2 July 2013, http://www.elitedaily.com/life/what-it-takes-to-be-a-leader. Accessed 28 Sept. 2017.

Root, George N. Importance of Teamwork at Work. smallbusiness.chron.com/importance-teamwork-work-11196.html. Accessed 28 Sept. 2017.

 

 

Leave a comment